top of page


of directors

Joanna Davies, DPhil – Chair

Joanna Davies is Professor at San Diego Biomedical Research Institute (SDBRI). Throughout her scientific career Dr. Davies has focused on understanding mechanisms used by the immune system to protect tissue from destruction.


Sheila Ferguson – Treasurer

Sheila Ferguson is a financial management professional with officer-level experience in treasury, accounting, budgeting, investment review and analysis, international taxation planning and restructuring. She served as director for several community service, education and performing arts organizations.  Ms. Ferguson has additional interest and skill in photography and multimedia design for fundraising and the arts.


Roberta Gottlieb, MD – Secretary

Roberta Gottlieb is a Professor at the Cedars Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles. She was also the first Director of the Donald P. Shiley BioScience Center at San Diego State University (2007–2013). Dr. Gottlieb has substantial experience in working, directing, and founding research institutions. At San Diego State University (SDSU) Dr. Gottlieb established the Shiley Center’s research program and the Aztec BioInnovation Institute. Dr. Gottlieb also co-founded Radical Therapeutix in 2005 and TissueNetix in 2011. She has dedicated her career to improving health and quality of life for patients with a variety of diseases via her own research and by improving research environments for like-minded research scientists and physicians.

Linda Sherman, PhD – Member

Linda Sherman is Professor at The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI), La Jolla, CA, a non-profit biomedical research institute. Dr. Sherman is a leader in the field of type 1 diabetes research as well as the study of immunobiology. She has contributed to the national scientific community extensively as a member of a variety of NIH committees and councils designed to review grant applications and write policy on funding priorities. Within TSRI Dr. Sherman has sat on promotions and faculty recruiting committees for many years. Dr. Sherman was the first woman to be promoted to the position of Full Professor at TSRI, and is currently President of the American Association for Immunologists (AAI).

bottom of page